Posted on Updated on

Twenty years ago today, on the 19th April 1997, Derry City defeated St Patrick’s Athletic by two goals to nil at Brandywell to lift the League of Ireland Premier Division title for only the second time in their history. A goal in either half from James Keddy and captain Peter Hutton secured the title and incredibly it was to be the last time the Candy Stripes would lift the famous old trophy. Derry finished ten points clear of second placed Bohemians in 1997, a video of the goals against the Inchicore side and a couple of articles from the Irish Times are below.

The Derry City league winning squad of 1996/97 included: – Tony O’Dowd, Declan Devine, Richie Purdy, Declan Boyle, Peter Hutton, Paul Curran, Gavin Dykes, Tom Mohan, Paul Hegarty, Liam Coyle, Gary Beckett, James Keddy, Kevin McKeever, Darren Kelly, Ryan Coyle, Sean Hargan, Tommy Dunne, Ryan Semple.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s