Dec 94 – Derry City 2-0 Dundalk


On This Day: 64 years ago, Derry City lost 4-2 to Austrian side Admira Wien at Brandywell

This day 64 years ago, on Wednesday, May 19, 1954, Derry City went down 4-2 to Austrian side Admira Wien in an exhibition game at Brandywell to mark the Candy Stripes twenty-fifth year as a member of the Irish League.

Admira were one of the leading Austrian clubs for 40 years and the side that visited the Brandywell included eight full internationals.

The Austrians flew in from Vienna two days before the game to Nutt’s Corner and arrived in the city by bus. They trained on the Brandywell pitch for two hours the day before the game before exploring the Inishowen peninsula in the afternoon.

Such was the Interest in the fixture that one village in Donegal alone had requested one hundred tickets.

Continue reading


A throwback to the 1988 FAI Cup semi-final between Derry City and Longford Town.

Back then the semi-finals were played over two legs. Derry won the first leg 2-0 at St. Mel’s Park in Athlone and came out on top in the second leg at Brandywell by four goals to two, with goals from Jonathan Speak, Pascel Vaudequin, Owen Da Gama and John Cunningham.


Opening Day Fixtures

Derry City team from 1929

As Kenny Shiels prepares to take his Derry City squad to Waterford for the opening fixture of the 2018 season tomorrow evening and with the club edging ever closer to its 90th anniversary, we have delved through the archives to pick out some notable opening day fixtures from days gone by.

August 22, 1929: Irish League Fixture – Derry City 1-2 Glentoran – First competitive game in senior football

The Derry City story began on August 22, 1929, when the Brandywell club played its first competitive game in senior football against Glentoran FC. On that historic afternoon, an attendance of around 7,600 witnessed City fall to defeat against their Belfast opponents.

Derry were managed by the charismatic Joe McCleery, a native of Lurgan, and lined out with eight full-time professionals in their starting eleven.

But it was one of the part-timers, Peter Burke, who was based in Buncrana at the time, had the honour of scoring City’s first goal in competitive football when he fired home on the half hour mark. The visitors responded superbly in the second half when centre forward Fred Roberts netted twice to secure all three points for the East Belfast side. Continue reading